Skip to content

My ode to vacation

August 30, 2010
 

I had a wonderful vacation this month visiting my family back on the East Coast.  It was so nice to see family, have them meet my son and of course, enjoy some delicious East Coast favorites.  Here is a quick look at some of my favorites:

 

No summer trip to the East Coast is complete without crabs and Old Bay.

I had this amazing grilled pork chop at Baywood. It was topped with an incredible avocado, mango and lobster salsa that was phenomenal, not to mention the plantains!

I also thoroughly enjoyed a little something we dubbed a “waco” during my family reunion.  Unfortunately I don’t have any photos, but here is the gist: you take a snack size bag of Fritos, add taco meat, guacamole, salsa, sour cream, lettuce, cheese and a spoon and you have yourself a delicious walking taco.  It was really simple, so easy to clean up and such a clever idea!  I think you could even use Doritos if you prefer or fresh tomatoes.  The beauty is that the possibilities really are endless.  Thanks to Ginny for the wonderful idea!

I couldn’t end my vacation post without sharing an East Coast inspired recipe.  Here is a plan for a great crab soup:

Maryland Crab Soup
 
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour, 15 minutes

1/4 cup Onion (chopped)
2 Celery stalks (chopped)
1 Garlic clove (minced)
2 tablespoon Olive oil
1 tablespoon Old Bay seasoning (add more or less to taste)
1/2 teaspoon Lemon pepper
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 quart Chicken broth
3 cup Water
2 cup Red potatoes (cubed)
1/2 cup Frozen lima beans
1 cup Frozen green beans
1/2 cup Frozen corn
1 28-ounce can Tomatoes, with juices
1 Bay leaf
1 pound Backfin crab meat
 
Instructions
1. In a large soup pot, saute onions, garlic and celery in olive oil over medium heat for 5 minute. Add Old Bay, lemon pepper and Worcestershire sauce. Stir until vegetables are coated with spices. 2. Add all other ingredients except crab.
3. Simmer over medium heat for 50 minutes or until potatoes are soft. While it is cooking pick through crab meat to be sure all shells are removed. Stir in crab meat. Simmer 10 minutes. 

 I’ve had this recipe for a while and have not had a chance to try it out yet, so unfortunately I don’t have my usual tips to offer.  However, how could anything with Old Bay in it go wrong?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

