Skip to content

Angel Hair Pasta with Sun-dried Tomatoes & Goat Cheese

September 9, 2010

Last night’s dinner was an old stand by: taco salad!  While incredibly tasty (thanks to my husband) and always a classic, I don’t really think I need to share the recipe.  I will however mention that California avocados really enhance any dish.  I cannot believe I used to not like them!  But hey, I’m also the person who did not like strawberries or soup, so I like to think I’ve come a long way.

On tap for dinner this evening is one of my absolute favorites: Angel Hair Pasta with Sun-dried Tomatoes & Goat Cheese.  It is basically a sauceless pasta and one of our absolute go to meals.  We like it so much I was shocked that I had not shared the recipe yet on my blog.  Well crisis averted, here it is:

Angel Hair with Sun-dried Tomatoes and Goat Cheese
Yields: 4 Servings

1 10-ounce jar Sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil (chopped, oil reserved)
1 small Onion (chopped)
4 Garlic clove (minced)
1/4 cup Tomato paste
2/3 cup Dry white wine
8 ounces Angel hair pasta
Salt
2 ounces Goat cheese (coarsely crumbled)
2 tablespoon Fresh parsley (chopped)
Freshly ground pepper

1. Heat 2 tablespoons of the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes in a heavy large skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and saute until tender, about 3 minutes. Stir in the garlic and saute until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the tomato paste and cook for 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Add the wine and sun-dried tomatoes and simmer until the liquid reduces by half, about 2 minutes.
2. Meanwhile, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the pasta and cook until al dente, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes. Drain, reserving 1/2 cup of cooking liquid.
3. Add the pasta to the tomato mixture and toss to coat, adding some reserved cooking liquid to moisten. Season the pasta, to taste, with salt and pepper.
4. Sprinkle with the goat cheese and parsley and stir. Mound the pasta into bowls and serve.

Kate’s Thoughts

There really is not much to add to this recipe because it is quite perfect the way it is.  One thing I would recommend would be to purchase a block of goat cheese, not the pre-crumbled container.  One of the best aspects of the dish is how creamy the goat cheese becomes as it melts and I have noticed that is not necessarily that consistency with pre-crumbled.

Also, adding some chopped chicken is not a bad option if you are looking for added protein.  If not, this would be a perfect meal for Meatless Monday (or Tuesday if you are me…)  If you don’t have any wine on hand, broth is always a suitable substitute, although the alcohol does enhance the flavors.   I would also absolutely recommend using only angel hair pasta, as anything heavier seems to take away from the delicacy of the “sauce”.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

