Skip to content

Herb-Baked Chicken

September 14, 2010

Last night was the farmer’s market, i.e. my favorite day of the week.  Every time I go I just want to buy every piece of produce because it looks so fresh and delicious.  I know we are really spoiled too because I am able to buy almost all the produce I need for the whole week at the market.  It’s a great reminder why it is such a good idea to cook with local, in-season produce!  It is so much less expensive than buying from the grocery store, not to mention better for the environment.

I successfully overcame my urge to buy everything in sight, however I was able to pick up some red and white new potatoes for roasting and fresh green beans for steaming.  They were the perfect accompaniment to the herb-baked chicken I put together.  I chose this recipe because the teriyaki seemed like a fresh twist on our standard baked chicken and I was not disappointed.  Enjoy!

Herb-Baked Chicken
Yields: 4 Servings

4 Skinless, boneless chicken breast
3 tablespoon Olive oil
1/4 cup Teriyaki sauce
1/4 teaspoon Dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon Dried rosemary
1 teaspoon Fresh ginger (chopped)
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1/8 teaspoon Pepper
1 Lemon (sliced thin)

1. Preheat oven to 350F.
2. Coat chicken with oil and place in baking dish. Sprinkle with teriyaki sauce.
3. Combine oregano, rosemary, ginger, salt, and pepper; sprinkle over chicken. Top with lemon slices.
4. Bake for about 30-35 minutes.

*Notes from experience: This would be a great weeknight meal option.  Although I am usually a proponent of using fresh herbs, the dried rosemary and oregano suited this dish just fine and the fresh ginger rounded out the flavors.  Super simple and super tasty.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

