Skip to content

Italian Sausage & Peppers

September 15, 2010

I know I’m not normal when I wake up in the morning excited about what I am cooking for dinner, and that is exactly what happened yesterday.  Since I plan out all my meals ahead of time, (You all should really do this by the way and I know just the person you should hire!) there are naturally some days I look forward to more than others.  I cannot really explain why, but I had been craving sausage and peppers, which is especially strange because I still cannot eat peppers because of my son.  Then I found this incredibly tasty recipe and knew I was in for a treat.  Here is a photo of my husband’s, since mine lacked the ever delicious bell peppers:

 

And of course, here is the recipe:

Sausage with Peppers and Onions
Yields: 6 Servings

3 tablespoon olive oil
3 pounds Italian sausage links
3 Red bell peppers (sliced)
2 Green bell peppers (sliced)
2 large Red onions (sliced)
3 Garlic clove (chopped)
2 12-ounce bottle Beer
1 6-ounce can Tomato paste
3 tablespoon Fresh oregano (chopped)
3 tablespoon Fresh cilantro (chopped)
2 tablespoon Hot sauce
Salt (to taste)
Pepper (to taste)

1.Heat olive oil in a large heavy skillet over medium high heat. Cook sausage until browned on all sides. Remove sausage from pan, and set aside.

2. Pour in 1 bottle of beer to deglaze the pan, scraping up any blackened bits from the bottom. Place the red peppers, green peppers, onions and garlic in the pan. Stir in the remaining beer and the tomato paste. Season with oregano, cilantro, hot sauce, salt and pepper. Cover, and simmer until onions and peppers are tender.


3. Slice the sausages into bite size pieces, and add to the peppers. Cover, and simmer until sausage is cooked through. 

*Notes from experience: I halved the recipe since it was just for my husband and I.  I ended up using 1 1/2 beers because the liquid reduced too much before the peppers were fully cooked through, but I would not expect this to be a problem had I cooked the full-scale recipe.  Thankfully my husband was more than willing to drink the half beer I had left over.  Also, the hot sauce does add a little heat to the overall flavor but you could use hot AND sweet sausage if you wanted even more heat.  I loved this recipe and would absolutely recommend it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

