Skip to content

Buffalo Chicken Sandwich

September 22, 2010

I don’t know why, but I want to incorporate blue cheese into every meal lately.  That’s not normal.   But alas, I was all too successful last night when my husband suggested simple grilled chicken sandwiches.  I turned it up a notch by making buffalo chicken topped with mounds of blue cheese.  But I didn’t stop there!  I couldn’t help myself and fixed a side salad topped with more cheese and grape tomatoes.  That is what I call delicious!  I really hope my doctor doesn’t read my blog…

Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches
Yields: 4 Servings

1/4 cup Hot pepper sauce
6 tablespoon Butter
1 0.6-ounce envelope Dry Italian salad dressing mix
4 Kaiser rolls (halved)
4 Lettuce leaves
4 Boneless chicken breast halves with skin
All purpose flour
2 tablespoon Vegetable oil
2 tablespoon Olive oil
4 tablespoon Blue cheese dressing

1. Stir 1/4 cup hot pepper sauce, butter and dressing mix in heavy medium saucepan over low heat until sauce is smooth; add more hot sauce, if desired. Arrange roll bottoms on plates. Top each with lettuce leaf and 2 tablespoons sauce.
2. Sprinkle chicken with salt; dust lightly with flour, then brush generously with remaining sauce. Dust lightly with flour again. Heat oils in large skillet over medium heat. Add chicken; sauté until brown and cooked through, about 5 minutes per side.


3. Complete sandwiches with chicken, blue cheese dressing and roll tops.

 

*Notes from experience: I adapted this recipe quite a bit because of what we had on hand, but the spirit of the original recipe was maintained.  I used skinless chicken and I think a little bit of the sauce was lost as a result since it did not have the skin to cling to.  This was not an issue for me since I am not a huge hot sauce person and my sandwich had just enough kick to satisfy, but I would probably recommend using chicken with skin and even more hot sauce if you are a spice fan. 

 The sandwich in the photo was my husband’s and I topped his with plain slices of blue cheese.  I whipped together equal parts mayo and sour cream with some blue cheese crumbles to make my sandwich topping.  I would recommend adding a touch of milk to make it closer to blue cheese dressing consistency, but I was hungry and the sandwich looked too good to keep fussing with it.

I wonder what I can make tonight with the rest of the blue cheese…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

