Skip to content

Favorite breakfast dishes: Buttermilk Pancakes

October 5, 2010

Since moving to our new home, we’ve been lucky enough to have lots of visitors come stay with us.  This weekend my two lovely sisters are making the journey across the country and I couldn’t be more excited! 

My husband and I joked that it seems like we are running a bed and breakfast as of late, so it is no wonder that one of my favorite activities is to cook breakfast for our fabulous guests.  Since we are cooking some of our usual dinners this week, I thought I’d share some of the recipes from my favorite breakfast dishes instead.  Up first, the classic buttermilk pancake!  I’ve shared this one before, but it’s so good it is worth repeating.

Buttermilk Pancakes
Yield: Makes about 10 pancakes

1  cup  all-purpose flour
2  teaspoons  baking powder
1  teaspoon  baking soda
1  teaspoon  sugar
1/2  teaspoon  salt
3/4  cup  buttermilk
1/2  cup  milk
1  large egg
2  tablespoons  butter, melted and cooled

1. Whisk together first 5 ingredients in a large bowl. Combine buttermilk, milk, egg, and butter in a separate bowl; add to flour mixture, and whisk just until blended. Let stand 10 minutes.
2. Pour batter onto a hot, lightly greased griddle or nonstick pan. Cook until pancakes are covered with bubbles and edges turn brown. Turn and cook other side 2 minutes or until golden brown.

Be sure to let the mixture stand for 10 minutes as the recipe indicates; it definitely produces fluffier pancakes.  I don’t always have buttermilk on hand when I am craving these pancakes so I make do with only milk.  You might not need to use all of the milk mixture to reach the necessary consistency so I would suggest adding it slowly to the flour mixture if you are not using buttermilk.

I would highly recommend adding chocolate chips for an added treat.  It is best to add them when the pancakes start to bubble on the griddle so they are properly incorporated into the batter but do no melt too much.  Be sure to scrape the griddle in between batches to remove any melted chips.  Fresh fruit also makes a great addition to this batter, although I would recommend not using blackberries or raspberries because they tend to break down.  Some recipes call for adding the fruit directly to the batter, but I recommend adding them at the same time you would the chips so the fruit holds up better.  Frozen berries are a great option if fresh berries are out of season.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

