Skip to content

Stuffed French Toast

October 6, 2010

French toast is by far my favorite carb loaded breakfast of choice.  My dad would always make it for me as a child and I would eat it by the dozen.  Well maybe not a dozen, but I definitely enjoyed it.  Now one of my favorites as an adult is stuffed french toast you can prepare the night ahead of time.  Who doesn’t love waking up to a breakfast you just need to pop in the oven?  Here is my favorite (and surprisingly healthier) recipe:

Stuffed French Toast
Yields: 12 Servings

24 1-ounce slices Cinnamon-raisin bread
Cooking spray
3 cup 1% low-fat milk
2 cup Egg substitute (divided)
1 cup Half-and-half cream
1 cup Sugar (divided)
1 tablespoon Vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon Ground nutmeg
1 8-ounce block Fat-free cream cheese (softened)
1 8-ounce block 1/3-less-fat cream cheese (softened)
Bottled cinnamon-sugar

1. Trim crusts from bread. Arrange half of the bread in a 13 x 9-inch baking dish coated with cooking spray.
2. Combine milk, 1 1/2 cups egg substitute, half-and-half, and 1/2 cup sugar in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Pour half of milk mixture over bread in dish.
3. Combine 1/2 cup egg substitute, 1/2 cup sugar, vanilla, nutmeg, and cheeses in a food processor or blender; process until smooth. Pour cream cheese mixture over moist bread in dish. Top with remaining bread; pour remaining milk mixture over bread. Cover and refrigerate 8 hours or overnight.
4. Preheat oven to 350°.
5. Uncover and bake at 350° for 55 minutes. Let stand 10 minutes before serving. Sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar, if desired.

Kate’s Tips

It is extremely important that you allow this to sit overnight or at least for 8 hours.  I made the mistake of not following this instruction to a “t” once and definitely paid the price.  I usually make it with regular bread since I don’t like cinnamon raisin (I know, what is wrong with me?) and it is just as delicious.  I add a cinnamon and dash more nutmeg to compensate.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

