Skip to content

Butternut Squash Flatbread

October 22, 2010

Well we are coming to a close on my week of Fall inspired recipes and I have enjoyed it so much, as has my belly, that I think I am going to share more next week!  I just need to decide if I should stick with pumpkin and squash or move on to new ingredients.  I’ll keep you posted.

The last recipe I am going to share today is a perfect week night meal.  The most time-consuming part is prepping the squash and rolling out the pizza dough, but can still be done in less than 15 minutes.  You just need a few simple ingredients:

 

Peel, seed and slice the squash, thinly slice the onion and de-stem the thyme:

 

Toss the squash, onions, pine nuts and thyme in oil.  Season with salt and pepper.  Top shaped pizza dough and sprinkle with cheddar:

Here is the full recipe:

 

Butternut Squash Flat Bread With Cheddar and Pine Nuts
Yields: 4 Servings

1 pound Store-bought pizza dough (thawed if frozen)
Cornmeal (for the pan)
1 pound Butternut squash (peeled, seeded, and sliced, 1/4 inch thick)
1/2 Red onion (thinly sliced)
1/4 cup Pine nuts
1 tablespoon Fresh thyme
2 tablespoon Olive oil
Kosher salt
Black pepper
1 1/2 cup Extra-sharp Cheddar cheese (grated, 6 ounces)

1. Heat oven to 400° F. Shape the dough into a large oval and place on a cornmeal-dusted baking sheet.
2. In a large bowl, toss the squash, onion, pine nuts, thyme, 1 tablespoon of the oil, ½ teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper. Scatter over the dough and sprinkle with the cheese.
3. Bake until golden brown and crisp, 25 to 30 minutes.

I’ve shared my thoughts on how expensive pine nuts are and I am not sure they really enhanced the recipe all that much.  They did add a bit of a crunch which was a nice contrast to the cooked squash and onions.  I must admit that I have been able to use the bag of pine nuts in several recipes lately, so although the initial investment might not seem worth it, the cost per meal might end being pretty low.  I’ll get back to you!

One ingredient I would definitely not skimp on is the fresh thyme.  It made an amazing difference in the overall taste and always smells so delicious!

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend!  We are off to a pumpkin patch this afternoon to celebrate my son’s first Fall.  It is supposed to be rainy here most of the weekend so I am looking forward to curling up on the couch next to a warm fire and enjoying a little football. (Go Irish!  Beat Navy!)  Ooh, and maybe enjoy a little leftover pumpkin soup…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

