Skip to content

Pear and Prosciutto Pizza

November 3, 2010

One of my favorite appetizers to make for small get togethers is pears wrapped with a bit of gorgonzola and prosciutto.  When I found this recipe for basically that exact appetizer in pizza form, I could not resist!  I decided to switch out the provolone the recipe calls for and use blue cheese instead and presto!  Appetizer recreated!

The recipe was not too hard to put together and my son even helped me roll out the pizza dough.  And by help, I actually mean made it much harder because I had to hold him with one arm and stretch the dough with the other hand, but that’s just semantics.

There is a lot of intense flavors in this pizza, between the peppery arugula, sweet onions and sharp blue cheese that I chose, so it might not be for everyone’s palate.  However, I thought it was a nice spin on the traditional pizza and I will definitely try it again.

 

Pear and Prosciutto Pizza
Yields: 4 Servings

2 teaspoon Olive oil
2 cup Sweet onion (vertically sliced)
1 12-ounce Prebaked pizza crust
1/2 cup Provolone cheese (2 ounces, shredded)
1 medium Pear (thinly sliced)
2 ounce Prosciutto (cut into thin strips)
1 dash Freshly ground pepper
2 tablespoon Walnuts (chopped and toasted)
1 1/2 cups Baby arugula leaves
1 teaspoon Sherry vinegar

1. Preheat oven to 450°.
2. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion to pan; cover and cook for 3 minutes. Uncover and cook 10 minutes or until golden brown, stirring frequently.
3. Place pizza crust on a baking sheet. Top evenly with onion mixture; sprinkle with cheese. Top evenly with pear and prosciutto. Sprinkle with pepper. Bake at 450° for 12 minutes or until cheese melts. Sprinkle with nuts. Place arugula in a medium bowl. Drizzle vinegar over greens; toss gently to coat. Top pizza evenly with arugula mixture. Cut pizza into 8 wedges.

Kate’s Tips

Although I chose blue cheese in hopes of recreating the appetizer I mentioned, I think I would stick with the provolone the recipe calls for in the future.  The blue cheese I used was so strong that it overwhelmed the other flavors.  Also, I used store-bought pizza dough that was not pre-cooked.  Next time I would sprinkle it with a little olive oil and cook it for 5-7 minutes to allow it to crisp up a little before assembling the pizza.  The finished product was a little too doughy and it did not stand up as well to the cooked sweet onions.

Basically it sounds like I am saying to follow the recipe and not try new things like I did.  You can’t blame a girl for trying!

As I have mentioned in the past, prosciutto is fairly expensive.  My recommendation is to have it sliced for you in the deli so you can purchase exactly what you need in an effort to minimize cost.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

