Skip to content

It’s beginning to smell a lot like Christmas! Snickerdooles!

November 29, 2010

In honor of my favorite time of year, I am going to put on my baking hat and share with you a Christmas cookie countdown!  What better way to celebrate the holidays than making lots of cookies?  Over the next 10 days I will be featuring various Christmas cookie recipes, some old favorites and some new ones I have been dying to try.  Enjoy!

Up first is one of my personal favorites: Snickerdoodles!  The delicious smell of cinnamon basically equates to Christmas so I knew I had to share.  I tried this recipe several years ago and the amazing soft texture and rich, chewiness keeps me coming back.

Snickerdoodles
Yields: 3 Dozen

2 1/2 cup All purpose flour
2 teaspoon Cream of tartar
1 teaspoon Baking soda
1/4 teaspoon Salt
1 cup Unsalted butter (2 sticks, softened)
1 1/2 cup Sugar
2 large Eggs (at room temperature)
2 tablespoon Milk
1 teaspoon Vanilla extract
6 tablespoon Sugar
2 teaspoon Cinnamon
1. In a small bowl, combine the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt. Set aside
2. In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar until smooth, about 2 minutes. Add the eggs, milk, and vanilla, and beat well. Add the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly.
3. Wrap the dough tightly with plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator for 2 hours.
4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
5. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets, leaving several inches between for expansion. Sprinkle generously with cinnamon/sugar mixture. Bake for 12-14 minutes.
6. Cool the cookies on the sheets for 5 minutes and then remove to wire rack to cool completely.

Kate’s Tips:

As the recipe indicates, be sure to leave enough space between the cookies when baking.  They expand quite a bit!

Because the dough needs to chill for 2 hours, these are a great cookie to make ahead and cook when you are looking for a warm, tasty treat.  They are especially delicious when they come right out of the oven, but then again, what cookie isn’t?  It is very important that the dough is thoroughly chilled before baking.  I would recommend keeping the dough in the refrigerator in between baking each batch.

I prefer to coat the entire cookie with cinnamon & sugar, rather than just sprinkling.  I roll the cookies out and then drop them in the cinnamon/sugar mixture.  This way you get a taste of cinnamon and sugar in every bite!  I find I only use 3 tablespoon sugar and 1 teaspoon sugar even when I prepare the cookies this way, but extra cinnamon/sugar makes for great toast if you have extra!

I also find this recipe makes 4 dozen, rather than the 3 it indicates (and that is even with a taste test of the dough here and there!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

