Skip to content

Hidden Kisses

December 8, 2010

I have a confession to make:  I am not sharing my favorite Christmas cookie of all time, because it does not seem exciting enough.  It makes me sad, but I’m confident you all have a go-to recipe for it: the classic Peanut Butter blossom.  Peanut butter is on my list of foods I cannot imagine living without and combining it with chocolate takes it to a new level.  Don’t worry, I still baked myself a couple of dozen last week.  We clearly didn’t have enough cookies in the house already…

To make up for this missing cookie, I’ve decided to share a recipe that also features Hershey’s Kisses, but is one you might not have seen before.  I think it is bound to  be a new classic and is incredibly delicious!  Plus it has a chocolate surprise hidden inside.  It’s like opening a Christmas present; a good one, not the unfortunate Christmas sweater gift from Aunt Sally.

I’ll spare you the number of cookies I had to eat before I found one with a Kiss suitable for photographing!

Hidden Kisses
Yields: 4 Dozen

1 cup Butter (at room temperature)
2/3 cup Sugar
1/2 teaspoon Vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon Pure almond extract
1 3/4 cup All purpose flour
3/4 cup Pecans (finely chopped
1 9-ounce package Hershey’s Kisses
1 1/2 cup Confectioners sugar

1. In a large bowl, cream the butter, sugar, and vanilla and almond extracts. Stir in the flour and blend well. Add the pecans and blend well. Cover the bowl and refrigerate the dough for 1 hour.
2. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
3. Unwrap the Hershey’s Kisses. Press a scant tablespoon of dough around each Kiss, covering it completely; shape into balls.
4. Place the cookies on ungreased cookie sheets and bake for 10 minutes. Cool slightly, then transfer to a rack to cool completely. Roll the cookies in confectioners’ sugar.

Kate’s Tips:

I couldn’t bring myself to coat these cookies in confectioners’ sugar (bad experience with powdered sugar covered cookies), but I am sure it is a delicious addition.  When you are baking so many cookies you look for any excuse to cut back, even slightly, on the calorie level.  The cookies seemed tasty enough without the extra sweetness in my opinion.  Other than that, they were perfect as is!

Leave a Reply

