Skip to content

Christmas Treats for Dogs

December 15, 2010

I decided to share one bonus cookie recipe for your four-legged friends.  My dog has watched me bake almost every day for the past two weeks, so it only seemed fair that I make him his own holiday treats.  Furry friends love Christmas cookies too!

I’ll be taking a short break from my daily blogging until after the holidays.  I hope you all have a wonderful holiday and a very happy new year!

Banana Cinnamon Dog Biscuits
Yields: 2 1/2 Dozen

1 cup Unbleached flour
1 cup Whole wheat flour
2 teaspoon Baking powder
1 teaspoon Cinnamon
1 Ripe banana (mashed)
1/4 cup Natural unsalted peanut butter
1/4 cup Carrot (grated)
1/2 cup Filtered water

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.
2. Measure the unbleached flour, whole-wheat flour, baking powder and cinnamon into a mixing bowl. Whisk until combined.
3. Combine the mashed banana, peanut butter, carrot, and water in a glass measuring cup. Stir with fork till smooth and creamy.
4. Make a well in the flour, and pour in the banana-peanut butter mixture. Mix on a medium speed until combined.
5. Turn the dough out onto a slightly floured surface and gently knead until dough is smooth and still soft. Roll the dough 1/4-inch thick and cut the biscuits into desired shapes with cookie cutters.
6. Place the biscuits on a parchment-lined cookie sheet and bake 12-15 minutes until dry and firm to the touch. Turn the oven off and leave biscuits in another 20-30 minutes. Remove them from the oven, cool on a baking rack, and store.

Kate’s Tips:

I’ve made this particular recipe a few times for my dog and had to improvise once or twice.  I’ve made it using solely unbleached flour and today’s batch did not include carrots.  Both times my dog did not seem to mind, although I cannot say he has the most sophisticated pallet…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

