Skip to content

Lower Calorie Brownies??

January 21, 2011

When I decided to focus on lower calorie desserts this week, I made it my mission to find a healthier brownie recipe.  My favorite recipe that I normally use packs 200 calories per brownie (and who really eats one?), plus 11 g of fat.  Definitely not good for a diet, although I must admit really tasty. 

After much searching I found a recipe that claimed to be delicious, had 50 calories less per serving and half the fat, so I thought I’d give it a shot!  And what do I think?  I think I found a pretty delicious brownie recipe that has 50 fewer calories and half the fat!  Not bad for a day’s work.

Overall, the texture of the brownie was incredibly fudgy and just as chocolatey as the original recipe, although I noticed it wasn’t quite as sweet.  The full-calorie version has twice the amount of sugar, not to mention almost 3 times the amount of butter, so this shouldn’t have come as a surprise.  The serving size is comparable in both recipes, however there is no way I will be able to limit myself to just one!

Low-Calorie Fudgy Brownies
Yields: 16 Servings

1 cup All purpose flour (4.5 ounces)
1/2 cup Unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon Salt
1/3 cup Butter
2 ounce Dark chocolate (chopped)
1 cup Granulated sugar
1/4 cup 1% low-fat milk
1 teaspoon Vanilla extract
2 large Egg yolks
1 large Egg
Cooking spray

1. Preheat oven to 350°.
2. Weigh or lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Combine flour, cocoa, and salt in a medium bowl; stir with a whisk.
3. Place butter and chocolate in a medium microwave-safe bowl, and microwave at HIGH for 45 seconds, stirring every 15 seconds. Stir until smooth, and set aside. Cool slightly.
4. Add 1 cup sugar, milk, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, egg yolks, and egg; stir with a whisk to combine.
5. Add butter mixture to flour mixture, stirring just until combined.
6. Pour batter into an 8-inch square metal baking pan coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for 20 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out almost clean.

Kate’s Tips:

I would recommend cooking the brownies for just under 20 minutes.  The corner brownies were cooked just a minute or two too long and resulted in a texture that was much too “cake”y for my liking.  This will vary based on your oven and your taste preference, but I prefer my brownies to be a little bit more on the undercooked side.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 1:09 pm

    YUM those look divine I cant wait to try them.

Leave a Reply

