Skip to content

Supremely Perfect Fish Tacos

April 18, 2011

I adore fish tacos.  There is no other way to say it.  I crave them on a daily basis, which is crazy when you think that a couple of years ago you couldn’t even get me to try one.  Fish in a taco?  Yuck!  That was back in the days when I though strawberries were disgusting and you couldn’t pay me to eat a cooked vegetable.  Ah, how times have changed!  And thank goodness, because I finally satisfied my fish taco craving this past weekend and I must share the recipe with all of you.

Now everyone may have their own way of assembling and topping their fish tacos, but I stick with a few key items:

-Flour tortillas (I’ve never been a fan of corn, but more power to you if you enjoy them.)

-Mango salsa (New favorite addition and so incredibly tasty!)

-Sliced cabbage

-Fresh cilantro

-Sliced avocado

-Chipotle sour cream (Combination of chopped chipotle pepper, sour cream and mayo–tangy but scrumptious!)

These ingredients combined with the spice rub I tried this weekend and you will have supremely perfect fish tacos any day of the week!  The spice rub is the ideal blend of sweet, spicy, and full of flavor!

Blackened Tilapia Spice Rub
Yields: 4 Servings

1 1/2 teaspoon Paprika
1 1/2 teaspoon Brown sugar
1 teaspoon Dried oregano
3/4 teaspoon Garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1/2 teaspoon Ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon Ground red pepper
4 6-ounce Tilapia fillets
1 tablespoon Canola oil

1. Combine paprika and next 6 ingredients (through ground red pepper); sprinkle evenly over fish. Heat oil in a large cast-iron skillet over medium-high heat. Add fish to pan; cook 3 minutes on each side or until desired degree of doneness.

Kate’s Tips

Unfortunately I don’t have a photo to share of these amazing tacos; we had a guest over for dinner and it would have seemed awkward to break out my tripod .  We chose to grill the fish rather than pan sauté like we normally do and it was perfect.  I really think my husband is a grill  master!  Try it soon and let me know what you think!

Here is a photo of fish tacos we’ve made in the past to get your taste bud juices flowing:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

