Skip to content

Steamed Carrots with a Twist

April 20, 2011

This week at the farmers’ market I thought I’d pick up veggies that looked fabulous but I don’t usually cook at home.  Frankly, I couldn’t resist the baby carrots because they looked so darn cute.  As I mentioned in my post on Monday, I never ate cooked vegetables in the past and carrots were high on my list of ones I could do without.  I figured if I found a recipe that made me like them, well then that would be a recipe worth sharing.

I chose this particular recipe because I often make carrots with ginger for my son and it seemed like the perfect grown up option.  Having simply tested the recipe in the past, I thought it was time to bring it up to the big leagues: the dinner table.  Thankfully they were a crowd pleaser and I must say that even I found them delicious!  My son made a face because of the lime juice, but I don’t really think an 11 month old is a fair critic.

Steamed Carrots with Garlic-Ginger Butter
Yields: 4 Servings

2 Garlic clove (minced)
1 pound Baby carrot (peeled)
1 tablespoon Butter
1 teaspoon Fresh ginger (peeled and minced)
1 tablespoon Fresh cilantro (chopped)
1/2 teaspoon Lime rind
1 tablespoon Fresh lime juice
1/4 teaspoon Salt

1. Prepare garlic; let stand 10 minutes.
2. Meanwhile, steam carrots, covered, 10 minutes or until tender.
3. Heat butter in large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and ginger to pan; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat; stir in carrots, cilantro, and remaining ingredients.





Kate’s Comments

I loved the combination of ginger and garlic in this dish and the touch of citrus added just enough brightness.  The end result was low-calorie and fantastically flavored.

Be sure to use true baby carrots (the ones with green tops), not the cut down vegetables you might find bagged.  The texture of the bagged variety will be much too tough for this recipe.



Recipe adapted from Cooking Light

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

