Skip to content

Lemon-Fennel Salad

April 22, 2011

I took a break from my normal planning ways this week by picking vegetables that just looked good and searching out recipes later. Turns out I am able to satisfy my need to plan by helping my customers! When I wasn’t busy drooling over the cupcakes from a local vendor at the farmers’ market, I picked up some gorgeous looking fennel. Fennel is another one of those vegetables that you couldn’t have paid me to eat in the past. Thanks to my husband, when I got married I stopped holding on to my picky ways and just decided to start trying things. Turns out my husband was right (shhh, don’t tell him) and now I love fennel: roasted, braised, raw, you name it. If you haven’t tried it yet, then jump on the fennel wagon and give today’s recipe a shot.


Lemon-Fennel Salad
Serving Size: 1/2 cup salad
Yields: 4 Servings

1/2 teaspoon Ground coriander
1/4 teaspoon Salt
1/4 teaspoon Ground cumin
1/8 teaspoon Freshly ground pepper
2 teaspoons Olive oil (divided)
2 cups Fennel bulb (thinly sliced, about 1 medium)
1/4 cup Red onion (thinly vertically sliced)
2 tablespoons Fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon Fresh parsley (chopped)
1 teaspoon Fresh thyme

1. Combine first 4 ingredients in a small bowl.
2. Combine spice mixture, oil, fennel bulb, and remaining ingredients in a medium bowl, tossing well to coat.

Kate’s Thoughts

This side salad is a perfect light, crisp accompaniment to any dish.  The original recipe suggested to serve it with fish and I would contend that they definitely had it right.  However, I served it with a spice rubbed chicken and found it equally appealing.  The flavor was subtle and allowed the star of the show, fennel, to really shine.  It will be nice in the summer months to bring this back when the last thing I want to do is heat up the oven.

The only thing I wish I had done differently was to slice the fennel even thinner.  I found my bites were a bit cumbersome, but I think that is just splitting hairs.  Overall, delightfully delicious!

Recipe adapted from Cooking Light

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

