Skip to content

Veggie Burgers

June 6, 2011

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about why I started my business and what I truly hope to accomplish by serving my customers.  The prevailing answer?  I want to improve people’s lives.  I know my product can save you time, relieve the headaches of figuring out what to cook, save you money at the grocery store, but the most important benefit is the impact it can have on your health.

We live in society that leaves us feeling like we never have enough hours in the day and the one thing that seems to go first when we are busy is healthy, home-cooking.  The truth of the matter is that you deserve better than that.  Cooking at home doesn’t have to be difficult and it makes a TREMENDOUS difference when it comes to your health.  By selecting natural, fresh ingredients and avoiding over processed foods with ingredients you cannot pronounce, you are saying you deserve good health.  Making time to cook your own food is as important as making time to exercise, and both will make you feel better about yourself.  I really think you should check out my product and make a commitment to start taking care of you and your family.

There you have my Monday motivational speech!  Now it’s time for a recipe!  Today’s selection is perfect for Meatless Monday and definitely worth trying.  I know what you are thinking and I must admit I was a little skeptical when I found this recipe, but I was pleasantly surprised.  The burgers were very filling and the combination of natural flavors from the vegetables, earthiness of the mushrooms and sweetness of the onion left me feeling very satisfied.  Top them with your condiments of choice and you have an incredibly healthy alternative to a traditional burger.  You may doubt me but I really think you’ll like it!

Veggie Burgers
Yields: 4 Burgers

1 10-ounce package Mixed frozen vegetables
1 Egg
1 teaspoon Salt
1 teaspoon Black pepper
1/2 cup Mushrooms, fresh (chopped)
1/2 cup Bread crumbs
1 medium Onion (sliced, 1/4 inch thick)
4 Whole wheat hamburger rolls

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Steam vegetables until just tender.
3. Set aside to cool.
4. Fine chop steamed vegetables and mix with egg, salt, pepper, mushrooms and bread crumbs.
5. Form mixture into patties.
6. Place patties, topped with onion slices, on a lightly oiled baking sheet and bake, turning once (remove and replace onion on top), until brown and crispy on both sides, about 45 minutes.

Kate’s Thoughts
If you own a food processor, rather than chopping the cooked vegetables, combine them directly in the food processor with the mushrooms, egg, salt, pepper and bread crumbs to create the ideal consistency.  I did the chopping by hand this time around but I know the food processor would really help save time!
I paired these burgers with a chipotle coleslaw I was testing for my customers (amazingly delicious by the way) and it made me think it might be a good idea to add a touch of the adobo sauce from the canned chipotle chiles to the burger mixture.  It would provide a little extra flavor and just enough heat.  If I try it again, I will be sure to share!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    June 8, 2011 7:19 am

    Look awesome Katie! Have to try this out I love veggie burgers!
    Aunt Sara

  2. Suzanne permalink
    August 3, 2011 2:27 pm

    These veggie burgers are awesome. Made them on 4th of July and will make them again tonight for aveggie loving friend. Thanks for meatless Monday’s!!!!

Leave a Reply

