Skip to content

Grilled Figs

July 13, 2011

I picked up some fresh figs at this week’s Farmer’s market because they looked just too beautiful to pass up.  I haven’t done much cooking with figs so I put an all points bulletin out on Facebook and Twitter looking for recipe suggestions.  One of my favorite Twitter friends and all around good guy, @streske18, suggested I grill them up with some soft cheese.  I heard the word cheese and was happy to oblige!  Anything to give me an excuse to try something new from the local Carmel Cheese Shop.

Here are my beautiful muses:

And a sneak peek at the finished product and my first delectable bite.  The picture doesn’t do them justice:

To prepare the figs, I simply sliced them in half and placed cut side down on the grill for about 2-3 minutes.  Once they started to soften, I flipped them and topped them with a small slice of double cream French brie.  I allowed the cheese to melt and finished each fig with a splash of balsamic.  I think next time I will reduce the balsamic to a syrup ever so slightly to produce a tighter flavor, but overall, it was scrumptious!

I served the figs alongside a prosciutto wrapped pork tenderloin topped with a honey glaze.  It was the perfect combination.  My next foray into the world of figs?  It’s a toss up between chutney/jam or a pizza topped with prosciutto, Gorgonzola, figs, of course, and arugula.  I think either way, my stomach comes up a winner.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

