Skip to content

Pasta Salad with Corn, Roasted Peppers, Avocado, and Tomato

July 20, 2011

I’ve had this recipe tucked in my back pocket for awhile and I finally got around to trying it out! I’m a sucker for any recipe that involves avocado or cutting corn off the cob, so it is no surprise that this recipe piqued my interest. It seemed like a great twist on the perennial summer pasta salad, plus it didn’t include mayo, which makes it ideal for bringing to barbecues. Now, while the end product was incredibly delicious, it was rather time intensive to put together. (It didn’t help that I was simultaneously testing two other recipes…) This isn’t the kind of recipe I would give my customers since it involves too much work for a week night meal, but it’s definitely worth it when you have the time. It’s not hard to put together, just involves a lot of chopping, roasting, mixing, etc.

Penne with Corn, Roasted Peppers, Avocado, and Tomato
Yields: 8 Servings

2 Poblano peppers
2 Red bell peppers
2 ears Shucked corn
2 tablespoons Fresh lime juice
1 tablespoon Olive oil
1 teaspoon Salt
1/2 teaspoon Freshly ground pepper
1/2 teaspoon Ground cumin
1 Garlic clove (minced)
4 cups Cooked penne (about 8 ounces uncooked pasta)
2 cups Grape tomatoes (halved)
1 cup Onion (finely chopped)
1/4 cup Fresh cilantro (chopped)
1 Avocado (peeled, chopped)
3/4 cup Queso fresco (about 3 ounces, crumbled)

1. Preheat broiler.
2. Cut poblano and bell peppers in half lengthwise; discard seeds and membranes. Place pepper halves, skin sides up, on a foil-lined baking sheet; flatten with hand. Add corn to baking sheet. Broil 18 minutes or until peppers are blackened and corn is lightly browned, turning corn occasionally. Place peppers in a zip-top plastic bag; seal. Let stand 10 minutes. Peel and coarsely chop. Cut kernels from ears of corn.
3. Combine juice, oil, salt, black pepper, cumin, and garlic in a large bowl; stir. Add peppers, corn, pasta, and remaining ingredients except cheese; toss. Top with cheese.

Digging in for my first bite…

Kate’s Thoughts

Be sure to mix the pasta and vegetables with the liquid well, before adding the cheese. You want to ensure the pasta/veggies are coated with the juice and oil to help enhance the flavor. My first couple spoonfuls were from the top of the bowl and I soon discovered that the flavor was waiting for me at the bottom! The juice and oil make such a difference that I almost gave up on the recipe until I tasted a proper bite. That citrus is key to rounding out the flavor profile.

I would also recommend refrigerating the salad before adding the cheese to ensure the flavors really have a chance to meld together.

I wasn’t able to to find a poblano at the grocery store this time (it’s hit or miss…), so I substituted an Anaheim pepper. You could also use a jalapeno if you are looking for more heat.

Adapted from Cooking Light

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    July 20, 2011 11:55 am

    This looks seriously delish! I may have to give it a go on a weekend. And, I think it might be a great summer dinner party dish. Thanks for sharing (and making my mouth water)!

    • July 22, 2011 10:23 am

      I think you would like it! I’ve been enjoying the leftovers all week and it definitely tastes better the second (and third) time around.

Leave a Reply

