Skip to content

Oreo Chocolate Cupcakes

August 12, 2011

I thought I would round out my not so very healthy posts as of late with a fairly indulgent dessert: Oreo Chocolate cupcakes.  For those of you that may follow me on Facebook (here’s a link in case you haven’t given me a “like” yet), you know that I have been on a mission to create the perfect Oreo cupcake.  I’ve tried various recipes online, taste tested local bakeries, and created my own concoctions, all in the name of baking perfection.  After 4-6 dozen that weren’t quite right, much to my husband’s chagrin, I have finally settled on a recipe I love.  Of course that means it is now time to share with all of you!

I have always been a huge fan of Oreos and the thought of putting it into cupcake form seemed just too good to be true.  The final recipe I’m sharing today is one part perfect chocolate, moist cake and one part light, fluffy, decadent frosting.  It doesn’t hurt that it basically tastes like you are biting into an Oreo.  (Please forgive my off-brand Oreos; they are from Trader Joe’s and somehow it makes me feel better because they say they are “all natural”.)

Oreo Cupcakes
Yields: 30 Cupcakes

— Cupcakes —
2 cups Sugar
1 3/4 cups All purpose flour
3/4 cup Cocoa powder
1 1/2 teaspoons Baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons Baking soda
1 teaspoon Salt
2 Eggs
1 cup Milk
1/2 cup Vegetable oil
2 teaspoons Pure vanilla extract
1 cup Boiling water
15 Oreos (broken in half)
— Frosting —
3 cups Confectioners sugar (sifted)
4 tablespoons Unsalted butter (softened)
3 tablespoons Shortening
2 tablespoons Heavy whipping cream
1/2 teaspoon Pure vanilla extract
6 Oreos (crumbled)
15 Oreos (optional, broken in half)

1. Heat oven to 350°F. Line 2 muffins pans with paper baking cups.
2. Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in large bowl. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed for 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin). Pour batter into prepared pans.
3. Stuff half of oreo in each cupcake batter.
4. Bake 22-25 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks. Cool completely.
5. Beat the confectioners’ sugar, butter, and shortening together until the mixtures comes together and is well mixed.
6. Slowly add the heavy cream and vanilla extract. Continue beating until the frosting is light and fluffy, at least 5 minutes.
7. Stir in crumbled oreos. Frost each cupcake and top with additional Oreo half if you like.

Kate’s Thoughts

Some time and effort definitely went into finding the right cupcake/frosting combination, so hopefully you will enjoy it as much as I do.  As far as including Oreos right in the batter, you have a few options:  you could start out by placing a whole or half Oreo in each cupcake liner before adding the batter.  My preference was to float it near the top because they tended to soften in the baking process and were much easier to bite into.  I only used half an Oreo in hopes of somehow counting my calorie count, but it seems a little silly in retrospect.  Same goes with including only half an Oreo on top of the cupcake; you might as well go all the way and use a whole one.

When mixing the frosting, I preferred to hand crumble the Oreos directly into the mixture.  I tried completely grinding the Oreos down in a mini food processor, but the consistency of the frosting was much too grainy in my opinion.  I preferred to bite into the frosting and get a little chunk of cookie each time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Alli permalink
    August 12, 2011 11:20 am

    Thanks for posting this! I am excited to try it!

Leave a Reply

