Skip to content

Mushroom Pasta with Ricotta

August 26, 2011

Well it’s been a busy week here at Kate’s Thoughts for Food, and you will surely not find me complaining.  Our family is preparing to move in a few weeks so I am working double time on customer’s orders so I will be up to speed during the transition time.  That means using all my free time to fill customers order and test recipes, and less time to share delicious recipes with my fabulous blog readers.  But never fear, it’s Friday and I made time especially for all of you!

As I said, we are preparing to move in a few weeks.  Now this isn’t your standard move to a different house in the same town kind of move; this is a move across the country with three months of temporary housing in between.  That means we are in ultimate use up mode.  If I find a recipe that includes even one or two ingredients I can use up in my house, I jump at the chance.  Things are about to get creative in Kate’s house!

Enter this delicious recipe.  Leftover ricotta from zucchini lasagna, check!  Mushrooms I had picked up earlier at the farmer’s market, check!  Miscellaneous short pasta, check!  Sun dried tomatoes that have been waiting in my cupboard and are not part of this recipe but I decided to add anyway, check!

Mushroom Pasta with Ricotta
Yields: 4 Servings

Kosher salt
Freshly ground pepper
12 ounces Rigatoni (or other short pasta)
2 tablespoons Unsalted butter
1/2 small Onion (finely chopped)
1/2 cup Dry white wine
3/4 pound White button or cremini mushrooms (trimmed and sliced)
1 cup Ricotta cheese
4 teaspoons Fresh lemon juice
Parmesan cheese (shaved)

1. In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook pasta until al dente. Reserve 3/4 cup pasta water; drain pasta and return to pot.
2. Meanwhile, in a large skillet, melt 1 tablespoon butter over medium. Add onion and cook until softened, about 4 minutes. Add wine and cook until almost evaporated, 4 to 6 minutes. Add mushrooms; season with salt and pepper and cook until browned, about 8 minutes. Remove skillet from heat and stir in 1 tablespoon butter.
3. Add mushroom mixture, ricotta, and lemon juice to pasta; stir to combine, adding enough pasta water to create a thin sauce. Serve topped with Parmesan.

Kate’s Thoughts

As I mentioned, I decided to add in some chopped sun-dried tomatoes and I really enjoyed their added sweetness.  This recipe was incredibly flavorful and easy to put together, which is always ideal for a weeknight meal.  The ricotta and lemon juice gave just enough tartness to balance the earthiness of the cremini mushrooms.  I am not a big fan of pasta drenched in cream sauce, so this was the perfect creation for me.
Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

