Skip to content

Squash Blossom Fritters

September 1, 2011

This week at the farmers’ market I spotted squash blossoms and I could barely contain myself.  If I had walked there, I think I probably would have run home to cook them.  I understand the thought of eating flowers isn’t appealing to everyone, but I for one am a big fan.  I always end up ordering them when we eat out and am fascinated by the different ways to prepare them.

After much thought and deliberation (all in my own head), I decided I’d stuff them with goat cheese and fry them up.  Why wouldn’t you take something healthy like a delicate vegetable flower and fill it with cheese and cover it with fried batter?  As such, I would recommend eating these as part of a well balanced meal and not your sole nutritional intake.

Preparing them is pretty straight forward.  Start by delicately opening them up and filling them with your cheese of choice.  I chose a creamy goat cheese, but ricotta, cream cheese, or marscapone would also work.

Next, dredge stuffed blossoms in a shallow plate of flour and dash of salt, followed by egg and bread crumbs (plain, seasoned or in my case panko).  I apologize for no egg photo; my hands were too messy.

I then prepared a small skillet of canola oil over medium-high heat.  It helps to test the temperature of the oil before adding what you are frying.  The best way to test is to drop in a small piece of bread; if it turns golden, the oil is ready.  I fried the fritters on each side until properly golden, about 2-3 minutes.

Then I transferred them to a paper bag lined plate to drain.

I finished them off with a drizzle of honey and a pinch of salt.

Then we promptly scarfed them down and I become disappointed I didn’t get more.  If you come across squash blossoms in your area, I would highly recommend trying them.  Their flavor is relatively mild in nature and not what you would expect from a flower.  Their texture lends themselves well to being fried, but you can also bake them or poach them.  I am know on a mission for more recipes!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

