Skip to content

Lasagna Soup

October 20, 2011

I did it!  I successfully created a complete dinner using only one pan!  It only took me a couple of weeks, but I finally conquered my own challenge.  Now I have it done so it can only get better from here.

I adore lasagna.  It usually contains cheese, vegetables, and pasta, what’s not to love?  When I saw this recipe for lasagna soup I knew I would have to give it a try.  I was interested to see if it would leave me feeling satisfied but without the usual amount of work that a baked pasta dish usually requires.  The end result was a filling meal that hit all of the high notes that usually come with a baked lasagna.

Lasagna Soup
Yields: 4 Servings

1 Onion (finely diced)
1 teaspoon Olive oil
2 Garlic clove (finely minced)
1 pound Ground beef, ground turkey, Italian sausage,or  meatballs
2 teaspoon Dried oregano
2 teaspoon Dried basil
1/4 teaspoon Salt
1/4 teaspoon Red pepper flakes
2 cup Spaghetti sauce
4 cup Low-sodium chicken broth
2 Bay leaves
8 ounce Rotini pasta (any tube pasta will work but something with ridges works best)
1 tablespoon Fresh parsley (chopped)
1 cup Mozzarella cheese (shredded)

1. In a large Dutch oven, heat oil to medium heat and saute onion until golden.
2. Add garlic and warm through about 1 minute before adding your choice of meat.
3. Brown the meat, remove any extra fat.
4. Add oregano, basil, red pepper flakes, spaghetti sauce, chicken stock and bay leaves. Simmer for about 15-20 minutes.
5. Add pasta and increase heat to bring to a boil and cook for recommended time on pasta box for al dente.
6. Discard bay leaves and adjust seasonings by adding salt & pepper.
7. Stir in fresh parsley and serve with a sprinkling of shredded Mozzarella cheese.

Kate’s Thoughts

This soup was incredibly flavorful and definitely satisfying. It took about 45 minutes to prepare, but a lot of that time was hands off.

I think to improve upon the standard recipe I would incorporate more vegetables, maybe broccoli for an added nutrient boost or even squash depending on the time of year.  I used ground turkey, but may try turkey sausage next time.  If you were to use a spicy sausage, I would recommend cutting back on the amount of red pepper flakes, depending on how much heat you like.

 

Recipe adapted from 5dollardinners.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah Walter permalink
    November 3, 2011 8:44 am

    Just wanted to let you know that Jay said this was one of his “top five favorite meals I’ve ever made!” Adding the broccoli was great. Next I’m going to try the veggie enchiladas!

    • November 3, 2011 2:30 pm

      I am so glad Jay liked it! I feel pretty lucky that it made it into the top 5–nice work on your part! i like the veggie enchiladas even more so I can’t wait to see what he thinks…

Leave a Reply

