Skip to content

Dutch Oven Argentinian Dinner

October 25, 2011

My stomach is slowly recovering from a fun and food-filled weekend on the East Coast.  I traveled back home for a family wedding and my little foodie belly had a blast!  The wedding food featured some pretty killer barbecue and a variety of pies, rather than the typical wedding cake.  I am only slightly ashamed to say I ate four pieces of pie.  Well, technically 4 1/2.  I can definitely pretend that was just research for work right?  I was inspired to want to work on my pecan pie recipe at least.

Tonight’s recipe came at the perfect time.  After a late night flight and still feeling a little tired from the weekend festivities, a fast, delicious dinner was definitely in the cards.  Plus, I got to put my lovely Dutch oven to good use to create a tasty, one pot complete dinner.

Dutch Oven Argentinian Dinner
Yields: 4 Servings

Cooking spray
1/2 medium Onion (minced)
1/2 Red bell pepper (cored, seeded, and minced)
8 Cremini mushrooms (sliced)
1/2 teaspoon Ground cumin
Kosher salt
Freshly ground pepper
1/2 pound Ground meat (beef, turkey, pork)
1 cup White rice
1 cup plus 1 tablespoon Low-sodium chicken broth (or water)
2 cups Butternut squash (peeled and cubed)
1/2 head Broccoli (cut into florets, about 2 cups)

1. Preheat the oven to 450F.
2. Spray the inside and lid of a Dutch oven with cooking spray.
3. In a large bowl, mix the onion, bell pepper, mushrooms, cumin, salt, and pepper. Add the meat to the bowl and mix well. Set aside.
4. Rinse the rice in a strainer until the water runs clear. Tip the rice into the pot, add the liquid, and stir to make an even layer.
5. Drop ragged forkfuls of the meat mixture into the pot.
6. Arrange the squash in a layer, then load in the broccoli until the pot is full.
7. Cover and bake for about 45 minutes. Serve immediately.

Kate’s Thoughts

When I pulled this dish from the oven, my heart sank a little bit.  At initial glance, I did not think I would like the final product at all.  But then it came time to take a bite and my trepidations disappeared.  The flavor profile  was perfect and the dish was deliciously filling.  Not to mention the fact that it was chock full of nutrients.  Unfortunately the pictures didn’t turn out as well as I wanted, so you will have to take my word on it.

A few tips…be sure to coat the Dutch oven well with cooking spray to avoid sticking.  Although the recipe doesn’t specify, I put 1/2 teaspoon each of salt and pepper.  In the end, I felt it could use a little more seasoning but we simply added more to fit our tastes once it was plated.  We did not have broth on hand so we used water, which also affected how much salt would be needed.

I chose to use lean ground turkey this time around and I thought it fit the recipe perfectly.  It is really a personal preference what meat you choose, but I don’t think you would be disappointed with any option!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

