Skip to content

Honey and Spice One Pot Pork

November 22, 2011

I still cannot believe it is November, let alone the week of Thanksgiving.  My son is still recovering from the emotional scars of his Halloween costume (apparently dinosaur heads are very scary to one year olds, who knew?) and I swear we were just living in a different state last week, oh wait…

Don’t get me wrong, I could not be more thrilled for the impending holiday.   I mean, a celebration focused primarily on food?  How could that not be more up my alley?  Yeah, yeah, there’s family and being thankful, I get that, but the food?  Oh so excited!

Unfortunately the way our moving has worked out, I haven’t had time to fully dedicate my blog to this glorious holiday, but hopefully the holidays have put you all in a forgiving mood.  I hope to give you a preview of our Thanksgiving menu on Wednesday, so be sure to check back.

In the meantime, if you are looking for a perfect pre-Thanksgiving meal than have I got the recipe for you.  With all the cooking and prepping I will be doing in the days ahead, an involved dinner is definitely not in the cards.  Not to mention that I don’t think my refrigerator could hold any extra ingredients.  Enter a delicious one-pot wonder meal!  Complete with perfect Fall vegetables and spices, this meal is sure to leave you feeling in the pre-holiday spirit.

Honey and Spice Pork
Yields: 4 Servings

Cooking spray
1 1/4 pound Pork tenderloin
Kosher salt
Freshly ground pepper
1/2 cup Honey
3 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon Ground ginger
1 teaspoon Ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon Ground nutmeg
6-8 Small red potatoes
2 Carrots (sliced)
1 pound Green beans

1. Preheat the oven to 450F.
2. Spray the inside and lid of a cast-iron Dutch oven with cooking pray.
3. Put the pork in the pot and lightly season with salt and pepper.
4. In a small bowl, mix the honey, mustard, ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg and pour over the pork.
5. Slice the potatoes in half or quarters, depending on size, and add to the pot. Scatter the carrots and green beans over the potatoes.
6. Cover and bake for 45 minutes.

Kate’s Thoughts

Since we are traveling with an abbreviated pantry, I had to improvise in the honey department and chose to use agave nectar instead.  If you happen to have it on hand, I would absolutely recommend trying this substitution because it was amazing.  The honey is equally tasty, but I found the agave nectar gave it a little something extra.

Be sure to drizzle some of the sauce at the bottom of the pot over the pork and vegetables for extra (amazing) flavor.

I think next time I will try sweet potatoes for a slightly different flavor, but it is pretty darn near perfect as it is.  It takes less than 10 minutes to put together and then you get to sit back and enjoy the smells wafting from your oven.  That’s just like Thanksgiving right?

Adpated from Glorious One Pot Meals, Elizabeth Yarnell

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

