Skip to content

Peanut Chicken Rice and Vegetables

November 29, 2011

Well Thanksgiving has come and gone and I think I can say it was a success!  We had a wonderful time celebrating with friends and family, sharing delicious food, and basically eating enough to last me through New Year’s.  Oh the joys of holidays!  And now I am getting ready to start testing Christmas baking recipes.  My job is very hard.

But before it is time to start thinking of sweets, I will be sharing a couple more weeks of one pot dinners that will surely not disappoint.   I have been so inspired by the Dutch-oven recipes I’ve shared with all of you, that I decided to create one of my own.  It didn’t hurt that I had my fair share of leftover vegetables at my disposal from the turkey soup my husband had made.  They were practically begging me to create a recipe for them.  What, your vegetables don’t talk to you?

Peanut Chicken Rice and Vegetables
Yields: 4 servings

Cooking spray
1/2 medium Red onion (diced)
1 cup White rice
2 cups Chicken broth (or water)
1 pound Chicken breasts or thighs
Salt
Black pepper
4 tablespoons Agave nectar or honey
4 tablespoons Peanut butter
2 tablespoons Reduced sodium soy sauce
2 cups Broccoli (chopped)
2 cups Cauliflower (chopped)
2 Carrots (chopped)
1/2 cup Peanuts (finely chopped)

1. Preheat the oven to 450F.
2. Spray the inside and lid of a cast-iron Dutch oven with cooking spray or wipe with peanut oil.
3. Scatter the onion in the pot.
4. Pour rice into the pot, add the liquid, and stir to make an even layer.
5. Place the chicken on the rice and season with salt and pepper.
6. In a small bowl combine agave nectar, peanut butter, and soy sauce. Whisk until the peanut butter dissolves. Pour over the chicken.
7. Layer in the broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots
8. Cover and bake for 45 minutes. Serve immediately with chopped peanuts sprinkled on top.

Kate’s Thoughts

Although the sauce is poured over the chicken, most of the flavor ends up in the rice and vegetables.  As a result, this is definitely the kind of meal you want to maximize elements on your fork to ensure you are taking full advantage of the various flavors.  The chopped peanuts also give it a nice added crunch and just a touch of saltiness.

What I love about these one pot dishes is how little time it takes to put together.  Normally I am busy slicing vegetables while the protein is cooking or mixing up some rice while the veggies steam.  With a one pot dinner, it’s one pot and done!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

