Skip to content

Fresh Food: It’s time for recipe makeovers!

February 10, 2012

I like to consider 2012 the year of possibilities.  I am so excited about the foundation I have laid for my business thus far and the direction I found myself going.  I recently remarked that it kind of makes me a bit of cooking dweeb, but I really feel passionately about what I am providing my customers.  I firmly believe that choosing to cook for yourself and for your families makes a tremendous difference in your health, emotional well-being, and bank account!  Sounds so dramatic doesn’t it?  Almost like I think we can change the world, one home-cooked meal at a time.  Not so sure about all that, but I really think you can make your individual world a little bit nicer.

When selecting meals and recipes for my customers, I have always primarily focused on choosing what I refer to as “real food” ingredients.  The majority of my clients’ shopping lists are fresh produce, meat, and natural ingredients; processed foods are avoided whenever possible.  There are times where incorporating one or two processed ingredients may shave a few minutes off your cooking time, but in my humble opinion, it’s just not worth it.  The result are menus and recipes that are fresh, healthy and can still be prepared in a reasonable amount of time.  It doesn’t hurt that I’m a mom myself and test these recipes ahead of time, and usually with a toddler running underneath me trying to “help”.

So why am I telling you all this?  I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that I was looking for some direction with regard to my food blog.  I wanted the blog to have a purpose and the logical conclusion was that it should simply be an extension of what I provide my customers.  In the weeks ahead and, hopefully on a permanent basis, my blog will focus on recipe makeovers.  That is recipes that claim to be ridiculously simple, but involve more processed ingredients than any of us would like.  I appreciate we are all short on time, but I am here to help by providing recipes that are still easy to put together and use only “real food” ingredients.

If you have a favorite recipe that is desperately in need of a “real food” makeover, please email it kate@katesthoughtsforfood.com.  I’d love to feature some of these recipes on the blog!

It will take a couple of weeks to get some recipe testing under my belt, but be sure to check back soon!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brenda S. Thompson permalink
    February 10, 2012 8:08 pm

    Hey Katie Aunt Brenda here. I have started cooking more Korean food and Thai food than ever before. Many of their foods are very nutritionaly sound. Sorry for the spelling. I have some really good recipes that i have used from other recipes that aren’t as healthy. I use lamb more than beef. More veggies that most people never heard of. Sooo much better for you. I will work on shooting you a few over.

Trackbacks

  1. “Real Food” Makeover: Mexican Meatball Soup « Kate's Thoughts for Food Blog

Leave a Reply

