Skip to content

Roast Chicken & Spring Onions

April 26, 2012

The second recipe I am sharing today is simple, straightforward and did I mention absolutely delicious?  I found the spring onion bulbs produced such incredible flavor when roasted in the tart that I thought I would try roasting them whole.  I paired them with a chicken breast and a few simple flavors to create a wonderful seasonal entree.

Roast Chicken & Spring Onions
Yields: 4 Servings

2 teaspoons Olive oil
8 Spring onion bulbs (separated from greens and peeled if necessary)
4 Skinless, boneless chicken breast
Kosher salt
Freshly ground pepper
2 teaspoons Fresh thyme

1. Preheat oven to 400F.
2. Toss prepared onion bulbs with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Place in roasting pan coated with cooking spray.
3. Nest chicken breasts in roasting pan with onions, seasoning each breast with salt and pepper.
4. Sprinkle thyme over onions and chicken.
5. Roast 30 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through.

Kate’s Thoughts

You will only need the white or purple bulb portion of the spring onion for this recipe.  I recommend reserving the green ends for other recipes.  I sliced all of mine up and put them in a container to test a Pinterest cooking tip, so I will be sure to share when I go to use them next!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

